Control Measures

In National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) Phase II local governments are required by the state to develop and implement a stormwater management program that includes the following 6 Minimum Control Measures (MCM):


In 1972, the NPDES Program was established under the authority of the Clean Water Act. The Phase I and II stormwater permitting programs associated with NPDES were delegated to the North Carolina Division of Water Quality (DWQ) for implementation.

The Phase I stormwater program began in 1990 and applies to North Carolina local governments that had populations of 100,000 or more at that time. The Phase II stormwater program applies to local governments that have been selected by automatic designation, state designation, or petitioning.

Since the Town of Apex owns and operates a municipal separate storm sewer system (MS4) and is within the Raleigh Urbanized Area boundary, DWQ automatically designated Apex to be brought into the program. Apex received their original Phase II permit from DWQ in 2005 and the permit was renewed for another 5-year cycle in 2010.